Tales of Reservia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Help me find a career path that suits me

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Marissa

Marissa

Help me find a career path that suits me Empty
PostSubject: Help me find a career path that suits me   Help me find a career path that suits me 07v2DaMSat Aug 11, 2018 9:32 pm

I'm don't know what I want to do with my life.  I have a liberal arts degree but that's useless on its own as it basically just clears out gen eds so you can transfer to a 4 year university as a junior.  My previous jobs have included retail, food service, and tourism; though I don't want to be doing those for the rest of my life.  I’ve tried taking several online job tests and most have returned jobs in either teaching (something I was previously interested in, but the pay scale ruined it for me) or business (which my family thinks I’d be good at, but that much responsibility is kind of terrifying for me).  

The first job I can ever remember wanting to have as a kid was a pet store owner.  I like animals, but didn't want to be a vet as then I had to see sick and injured animals and watch some die.  There are aspects of owning a business that still seem attractive to me such as being able to set my own hours and telling problem customers to get lost, but as I've gotten older I've noticed more downsides too.  Being 100% responsible and legally liable for anything that could go wrong is terrifying, not to mention I really don't want to have to clean all those cages myself if I can't afford or keep employees.  And even on holidays somebody has to be there to feed them.  It’s a lot of work with a very high risk of failure.