Tales of Reservia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Translation HALP!

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Smuglord
Lord o' Smug
Smuglord

Translation HALP! Empty
PostSubject: Translation HALP!   Translation HALP! 07v2DaMTue Apr 01, 2014 10:36 pm

Well dudes, and dudettes. I'm majoring on English (well, more like getting a Bachelor's) and I have this subject "Literary translation" which, by its own name should tell you that is a royal pain in my royal ass because we have to translate literary texts from English to Spanish and vice-versa.
Then, my beloved citizens, I have two main questions that which I need them to be answered by a native speaker. So, after my long tl;dr, here I go.

You see, in Spanish, we have the word "Maestro" and you can call anybody whom you hold in a high regard as that, I translated it as "Master" but it just doesn't seem to make the job, so what word do you use instead of "Master", or which word would you use?
The another is the Spanish word "Cuzca" which is a girl who is somewhat slutty but she only flirts. The issue with the aforementioned is that, it suffers from a generational gap. It's not used as often as it used to be, and in my translation I went with "slutty" but, it doesn't do it either, so what word should I use that sound natural in English?

If there is something you don't understand, tell me, to explain myself better. Thank you beforehand my comrades!
Back to top Go down
Dr. Casey
Anime Girl Advocate
Dr. Casey

Translation HALP! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Translation HALP!   Translation HALP! 07v2DaMTue Apr 01, 2014 11:18 pm

Smuglord wrote:
The another is the Spanish word "Cuzca" which is a girl who is somewhat slutty but she only flirts.